picture1I am a third-year PhD student in the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University, fortunately advised by Prof. Elaine Shi. Prior to this I was a research assistant advised by Prof. Xin Li at Johns Hopkins University. Previously I got my bachelor’s degree in Information and Computing Science School of Mathematical Sciences Department at Fudan University. Then I got my master’s degree in Computer Science in Johns Hopkins University.

Contact: kew2 at

Research Interest: I’m interested in the intersection of theoretical cryptography and information theory, as well as related  areas in theoretical Computer Science.

I’m currently co-organizing the crypto seminar at CMU. Please contact me if you want to give a talk! See more information on our website.


  • PhD student in Computer Science, 2020-present
    Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA
  • PhD student in Computer Science, 2019-2020
    Cornell University, Ithaca, USA
  • M.S. in Computer Science, 2016-2017
    Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA
  • B.S. in Mathematics, 2012-2016
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China


  • A Complete Characterization of Game-Theoretically Fair, Multi-Party Coin Toss (EUROCRYPT 2022).
    with Gilad Asharov and Elaine Shi.
  • A Practical Coding Scheme for the BSC with Feedback (ISIT 2021).
    with Aaron Wagner.

  • Non-interactive Anonymous Router (EUROCRYPT 2021).
    with Elaine Shi
  • Edit Errors with Block Transpositions: Deterministic Document Exchange Protocols and Almost Optimal Binary Codes (ICALP 2019).
    with Kuan Cheng, Zhengzhong Jin and Xin Li.
  • Synchronization Strings: Efficient and Fast Deterministic Constructions over Small Alphabets (SODA 2019).
    with Kuan Cheng, Bernhard Haeupler, Xin Li and Amirbehshad Shahrasbi
  • Deterministic Document Exchange Protocols, and Almost Optimal Binary Codes for Edit Errors (FOCS 2018).
    with Kuan Cheng, Zhengzhong Jin and Xin Li.


  • Beyond Single-Deletion Correcting Codes: Substitutions and Transpositions
    with Ryan Gabrys, Venkatesan Guruswami and João Ribeiro